MSRFL teams gear up for finals

first_imgRugby League BY KILA NAO The top eight teams in all divisions playing in the Moresby South rugby league competition are geared up for the qualifying rounds starting this weekend. The final matches will be played at a neutral venue which is yet to be confirmed by the league’s management. All the club executives and team managers who attended the games awareness meeting last Wednesday were advised thoroughly regarding the rules of the game. MSRL chairman Brown Meruma said: “We want to shed light where the team officials and their players understand the rules of the game.” The purpose is to curb unruly behavior by supporters who seem to know the rules better than the referees. We have put everything in the manual for the officials to advise their players and supporters. That is the only way to minimise problems on the field,” he said. The timing of the matches includes; – All teams are to arrive at the playing venue an hour before official kick off time to avoid inconvenience; – It is the duty of all team managers to enquire about start of the match times; – U20s and women’s divisions will play 30 minutes each way with an eight minute half time break; – The A grade division will play 35 minutes each way with half time break of 10 minutes; – A grade match will play 40 minutes in the grand final with 10 minutes break each way; – The U20 and women will play 30 minutes each way with a half time break of 10 minutes; – Should there be a draw at the end of the normal time both teams will play two half’s of five minutes each way; – Should there be no winner, at the end of the five minutes each way period both teams will than play another five minutes each way but this time with a golden point applied; and, – The match will be called off if both teams have not scored any points and the match will be played at a later date and the Chairman of the league shall determine a time convenient for both teams. The teams that have made it to the A grade division final series include Koki Eels, Southern Sons, Vadavada United, Gabutu Dragons, JB Roosters, Kipo Eastern Prides, Two-Mile United and Talai Spartans. The Under 20 division will see Subcity Raiders, Kaugere Bulldogs, JB Roosters, Korobosea Souths, Gabutu Dragons, Kipo Eastern Pride, IPI Eagles and Southern Sons.In the women’s division, Vadavada United, Gabutu Dragons, Kaukana United, MK West, JB Roosters, Talai Spartans, IPI Eagles and Korobosea Souths will compete against each other.last_img